Conga Collaborate utilizes the power of e-signature tools to make sending and signing online documents easy and streamlined. You can determine the level of access to a document, track the status of individual signers, and easily adjust signer order – all from within Conga Collaborate. This article will explain the permissions you can give to document recipients as well as the different signing experiences available through Conga Collaborate and DocuSign.
To learn about how to send documents to recipients, see the article Delivering Online Documents to your Recipients
Set Recipients' Permissions
With the Conga Collaborate document signing process, you can easily specify what level of access each person has for a document that is shared with them. Below are the recipient permissions by document type(s) on which those permissions are available:
Proposals & Contracts
Signer – recipient can sign the document Can add signers – recipient is allowed to add other signers to the document Can add collaborators – recipient is allowed to add other people to view the document (but not sign)
Can redline – recipient is allowed to redline and make change requests to the text of the document
Adding Multiple Signers
Conga Collaborate has two signing experiences depending on the type of document you are using (proposal or contract) and whether or not you have DocuSign. This section will walk through the signing experience with multiple signers in scenarios where you sign with and without DocuSign.
Proposals without DocuSign
When DocuSign is not enabled you can still add multiple signers to a document using the built-in Conga Collaborate e-signature tool, but Conga Collaborate defaults to a “first come, first sign” approach. This means that whoever signs the document first will sign it for everybody listed as a signer on the document. This workflow is useful if, for example, you have multiple sales directors who can all sign off on a document and you only need one signature from the group.
Alternatively, Conga Collaborate supports setting signer order in cases where you need multiple signatures for a document.
Once this is turned on, follow these steps to set signer order:
- On the template, in the Properties panel in the Document Options section, check the box “Require All Signers for Acceptance”
- Either on the template (if you want the signers to be on every document generated from that template) or on a generated document, add people as recipients as described earlier in this article
- Set the signer order by putting the desired order number in the “Signer Order” text field
Once signers have been added to a document, you can change signer order by clicking on the drop-down arrow next to the recipient’s signer number and choosing a different position.
Proposals and Contracts with DocuSign
If DocuSign is enabled in your account, signer order is enabled by default. Add recipients as described earlier and set their signer order. Signer order can still be changed by clicking on the dropdown arrow and choosing a different position.
In signing documents both with and without DocuSign, signer order cannot be changed once a signer has clicked the “Accept” button.
Restoring Deleted Recipients
Recipients can be deleted at any time before they use their unique URL to view the document and Conga Collaborate will not keep any record of those recipients being added to the document. However, if recipients have viewed the document and you now want to delete them, Conga Collaborate will mark those recipients as deleted but keep record of them on the document. Their unique document URLs will be invalidated and they will no longer be able to view the document. If at some point you want to add them back as a recipient on the document, you can do so by going to the People tab and clicking Restore on the recipient’s business card. This will re-activate the unique document URL and allow them to view or sign the document (depending on the permissions you gave them originally).